Français
Martin Rochette's research group
Nonlinear photonics
Home Research Members Contact Openings
Our activities

Overview

The nonlinear photonics group focuses on research and development of nonlinear photonics devices for applications such as optical communications, instrumentation and biomedicine.

Nonlinear optics is the most versatile approach for the processing of light signals, by enabling a modification of the properties of light interacting with matter and interacting with other light signals.

Originally demanding high-power lasers and long interaction lengths, nonlinear optics can now be achieved with low power light sources and small footprint devices, owing to the progress in highly nonlinear fibers and waveguides such as those developed in our laboratories.

Our research in nonlinear optics includes the fabrication of nonlinear signal processing devices such as laser sources, wavelength converters and optical communication devices as well as the fabrication of optimized nonlinear media to be used as compact and low power consumption engines of nonlinearity.

English
Groupe de recherche de Martin Rochette
Photonique nonlinéaire
Accueil Recherche Membres Contact Carrières
Résumé des activités
 

Résumé des activités

Le groupe de photonique nonlinéaire se concentre sur la recherche et le développement de dispositifs photoniques nonlinéaires pour les applications telles que les communications optiques, l'instrumentation et le biomédical.

L'optique nonlinéaire est l'approche la plus versatile pour le traitement des signaux lumineux, en permettant de modifier les propriétés de la lumière en interaction avec la matière et en interaction avec d'autres signaux lumineux.

Initialement observée uniquement à partir de signaux lasers de haute intensité et à la suite de grandes longueurs d'interaction, l'optique nonlinéaire est maintenant accessible à de faibles puissances lumineuses et dans des dispositifs miniatures, grâce aux progrès des fibres et guides d'ondes hautement nonlinéaires tels que développés dans nos laboratoires.

Notre recherche en optique nonlinéaire comprend la fabrication de dispositifs pour le traitement de signal nonlinéaire tels que des sources laser, convertisseurs de longueur d'onde, et dispositifs pour les communications optiques, ainsi que la fabrication de média hautement nonlinéaires compacts et à faible consommation de puissance.